The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Sabbath Practices

Submitted 07-15-2019 under OPINION

From Mark: “I would like to know if each of the panelists have anything similar to a Sabbath and if so, how they observe that day?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Healing From Religious Trauma, part 2

Submitted 07-08-2019 under OPINION

How should a person find healing from religious trauma – a second set of responses.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: May One Allow One's Pacemaker Battery to Die?

Submitted 07-01-2019 under OPINION

Is it morally acceptable for an elderly patient under hospice care to refuse to have a pacemaker battery replaced?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Healing From Religious Trauma, part 1

Submitted 06-24-2019 under OPINION

Lorri R. asks: “How should a person find healing if they were traumatized during early childhood religious experiences either by sexual abuse in the church, by overly strict practices, or by persistent shaming and humiliation?”

view

How the life changing benefit of doula care made all the difference

Submitted 06-20-2019 under OPINION

Cassie was with me during my pregnancy, labor and delivery. Her support, encouragement, patience and kindness helped me have the most incredible labor and delivery I could imagine. I reflect back on my son’s entry into this world often. When I do, I smile.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Does it Mean to be a Part of a Religious Community?, Part 2

Submitted 06-17-2019 under OPINION

Part two of last week’s question (for Christian responses, see last week’s column), What does it mean to be part of a religious community?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What Does it Mean to be a Part of a Religious Community?, Part 1

Submitted 06-10-2019 under OPINION

This week’s question: What does it mean to be part of a religious community? We present the Christian responses in the column this week. Next week, we present Unitarian, Hindu, and Jewish responses.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Should We be Inclusive of Persons with Disabilities?

Submitted 06-03-2019 under OPINION

How do religious institutions show themselves to be open to folks with disabilities both visible and not visible?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: May One Choose Service Providers based on Politics?

Submitted 05-28-2019 under OPINION

If a business owner on moral grounds can refuse to provide a service such as baking a cake for or catering a same-sex wedding, should consumers then have the right to know the moral and political belief of the business owner, before the consumer does business with them?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do I Call Out My Friend's Adultery?

Submitted 05-20-2019 under OPINION

“Is it wrong of me to call out a friend who has been cheating on his wife, who is also my dear friend? I am very angry about his behavior, which he does not seem to regret, but others tell me it is none of my business.”

view

Browse