The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does tolerance lead to complicity? Part 1

Submitted 04-02-2018 under OPINION

Jacob L.H. asked the Ethics and Religion Talk panel, Where is the line between tolerance and complicity?

view

Cosi Fan Tutte reviewed

Submitted 03-31-2018 under OPINION

Celebration Cinema presented live HD screening of Metropolitan Opera performance.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is there one true religion? Part 3

Submitted 03-26-2018 under OPINION

All of the major religions say ‘Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.’ Jesus said to ‘Love one another and that, of faith, hope and charity, love is the greatest of these.’ So why do they also say that their religion is the ‘one, true religion,’ when they all share the same premise?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is there one true religion? Part 2

Submitted 03-19-2018 under OPINION

All of the major religions say ‘Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.’ Jesus said to ‘Love one another and that, of faith, hope and charity, love is the greatest of these.’ So why do they also say that their religion is the ‘one, true religion,’ when they all share the same premise?

view

Maria Bamford brought her masterful comedy to Wealthy Theatre as part of Gilda's LaughFest

Submitted 03-13-2018 under OPINION

Boom goes the dynamite! On Friday, March 10th, Bamford performed two stand-up sets at Wealthy Theatre, as part of LaughFest. I attended the first, which was sold out.

view

GRPS school walkout endorsement hinders, not helps students advocate for gun reform laws

Submitted 03-12-2018 under OPINION

Grand Rapids Public Schools declared its approval for the event on February 22, 2018. However, many of us in GRPS think that the wording of the endorsement shifts the conversation from us students to the administration, depriving us of our voice and diluting the power of our movement.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is there one true religion? Part 1

Submitted 03-12-2018 under OPINION

All of the major religions say ‘Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.’ Jesus said to ‘Love one another and that, of faith, hope and charity, love is the greatest of these.’ So why do they also say that their religion is the ‘one, true religion,’ when they all share the same premise?

view

Discussing what "Out of many, one' means in today's society

Submitted 03-08-2018 under OPINION

Diversity will continue to grow, but it will not destroy us. It is a blessing, not a curse.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does your tradition believe in saints?

Submitted 03-05-2018 under OPINION

I'd like to know the different ways Christians see saints; and I'd also appreciate hearing from non-Christians about their traditions and whether or not they have a concept of sainthood.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What role does celibacy play in your tradition?

Submitted 02-26-2018 under OPINION

I'm curious about how celibacy plays into religion. I do know that Catholic priests, nuns, and monks practice it; but does it play any ‘official’ role in Protestantism?

view

Browse