The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: What role does celibacy play in your tradition?

Submitted 02-26-2018 under OPINION

I'm curious about how celibacy plays into religion. I do know that Catholic priests, nuns, and monks practice it; but does it play any ‘official’ role in Protestantism?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the role of clergy?

Submitted 02-20-2018 under OPINION

What are the typical duties of clergy in your tradition who serve a congregation?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What happens to a Secular Humanist Part 1

Submitted 02-12-2018 under OPINION

Does a secular humanist who follows his or her heart and lives in general by the Golden Rule have a chance of seeing Heaven?

view

Support Your Local Businesses: The Pyramid Scheme

Submitted 02-04-2018 under OPINION

Grand Rapids' local business, The Pyramid Scheme, is one of many that focus on bringing together the individuals of the community and supporting local artists/musicians to celebrate creativity and life in the city.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What happens to a Secular Humanist who lives by the Golden Rule?

Submitted 01-30-2018 under OPINION

Does a secular humanist who follows his or her heart and lives in general by the ‘Golden Rule’ have a chance of seeing Heaven?

view

City Manager forum only opportunity for residents to meet candidates

Submitted 01-30-2018 under OPINION

The City Commission and Mayor have narrowed the search to three finalists and will be holding a community forum on Monday, February 5, 2018 at Wealthy Theatre starting at 5:30 p.m. This will be the only opportunity for citizens to meet the candidates and directly voice their questions and concerns.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should I tattoo a do not resuscitate order on my body?

Submitted 01-26-2018 under OPINION

CS asks, Doctors in Miami faced an unusual ethical dilemma when an unconscious, deteriorating patient was brought into the emergency room with the words Do Not Resuscitate across his chest.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is sex in virtual reality cheating? Part 3

Submitted 01-22-2018 under OPINION

I read with interest your recent column regarding whether Virtual Reality pornography is ‘cheating,' James wrote. Couples often wrestled with the issue of the husband's use of porn, whether print or video: did it constitute cheating, a form of adultery?

view

All the Way! Civic Theatre's newest offering is a hit with audiences

Submitted 01-16-2018 under OPINION

The story of passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 comes to life in this play about President Lyndon Baines Johnson and Martin Luther King Jr.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: The case for "NO TALKING" at movies!

Submitted 01-16-2018 under OPINION

Tim asks, I have noticed an increasing amount of talking among patrons at my local movie theater. Why do you think this is happening? And what would you say to your community to support the message, ‘Please do not talk during a movie in a theater?’

view

Browse