The Rapidian

Review

The Lion King Proves Iconic, Powerful

Submitted 11-22-2019 under OPINION

Twenty-two years after its Broadway debut, Julie Taymor's The Lion King premieres in Grand Rapids.

view

Actors’ Theatre Grand Rapids Provides Michigan Premiere of Gloria

Submitted 10-22-2019 under OPINION

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins' play presents a bleak, funny-sad view of modern life.

view

Introducing the 2019 AIA Grand Rapids Honor Awards Program

Submitted 09-30-2019 under NONPROFITS

Join us as we celebrate the AIA Grand Rapids architects and their firms at our annual Honor Awards Celebration. With our mission of supporting and advancing our profession, this event serves to bring together all who are part of the West Michigan architecture and construction community.

view

William Shatner connects at Star Trek II screening

Submitted 04-06-2019 under OPINION

William Shatner told well-honed anecdotes at a DeVos Performance Hall screening of Star Trek II: Wrath of Khan.

view

Katie Kalisz: A Quiet Woman's Clarity

Submitted 01-29-2019 under LOCAL LIFE

Local poet and GRCC professor Katie Kalisz will read from her just-released first book of poems, Quiet Woman, on February 21 at 6:30pm, at the Grand Rapids Community College Library. The reading is free and open to the public.

view

Where to get the finest brunch in Grand Rapids

Submitted 11-13-2018 under PLACE-MATTERS

I reviewed five of my favorite brunch spots in Grand Rapids. What's yours?

view

Grand Rapids Symphony bids farewell to Rich DeVos to open 2018-19 season

Submitted 09-18-2018 under OPINION

Music Director Marcelo Lehninger welcomed violinist Karen Gomyo for the opening concerts of the Grand Rapids Symphony's 2018-19 season on Friday and Saturday, Sept. 14-15

view

Rhiannon Giddens mesmerized sold out audience at St. Cecilia Music Center

Submitted 05-18-2018 under LOCAL LIFE

Rhiannon Giddens played to a sold out audience at the St. Cecilia Music center Thursday evening, providing the audience with a very powerful performance focused on the black experience in America.

view

Jewish Theatre's production of Torch Song Trilogy full of laughter and heartfelt emotion

Submitted 03-05-2018 under LOCAL LIFE

The story centers on a New York, Jewish, homosexual, drag queen, torch singer who struggles to cope with the tragic loss of his life partner, learns to be an effective parent to his adopted son and is forced to deal with his own mother’s intolerance.

view

American Civil War Museum CEO highlights importance of understanding history

Submitted 01-18-2018 under NEWS

Christy S. Coleman, CEO of the American Civil War Museum in Richmond, Virginia spoke at Grand Valley as part of MLK week.

view

Browse