The Rapidian

Opinion

Should teenagers be able to vote?

Submitted 12-12-2018 under OPINION

What are the opinions of teens on politics? What age should our youth have a voice in politics? Students from Kent Innovation High School discuss the issue.

view

Happy Cat Cafe encourages visitors to socialize with cats up for adoption

Submitted 12-11-2018 under OPINION

The Happy Cat Cafe is a place where anyone is able to eat with and be around cats. Customers can pet the cats and also have the option of adopting one.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does the clergy child abuse cover-up affect clergy moral authority?

Submitted 12-10-2018 under OPINION

In recent months we have seen reports from Philadelphia of wide spread clergy sexual abuse of children followed by wide spread cover-up also committed by clergy. As a member of the clergy what do you think of your profession weighing in on ethical issues when it seems unable to police itself?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk - Forgiving oneself

Submitted 12-03-2018 under OPINION

How do I forgive myself for the terrible things I’ve done?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is renting space to Unitarians a defamation of God's name?

Submitted 11-26-2018 under OPINION

To the person who felt compelled to send me an anonymous letter explaining that you are cutting off support to Ahavas Israel because I am profaning the sanctity of God by allowing a church to worship in our building on Sundays: You are a coward.

view

Christmas and Holiday Traditions Around the World at Meijer Gardens ignites holiday spirit

Submitted 11-21-2018 under OPINION

A visit to Meijer Gardens to see the trees is a perfect way to get into the holiday spirit. This year's exhibit is open now until January 6, 2019.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What are you grateful for? Part 2

Submitted 11-19-2018 under OPINION

This week, the Ethics and Religion Talk panel continue to answer the question, ‘What is the one thing in your life, in your community, in the world near or far, for which you are the most grateful?’

view

Finding heavenly sips of chai in Grand Rapids

Submitted 11-13-2018 under OPINION

As the weather changes, chai is my favorite way to warm up. Here are my three favorite places to get chai in Grand Rapids.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What are you grateful for? Part 1

Submitted 11-12-2018 under OPINION

Leading up to Thanksgiving next week, I invited the Ethics and Religion Talk panel to answer the question: ‘In the past year, what is the one thing in your life, in your community, in the world near or far, for which you are the most grateful?’ Here is the first set of responses. More next week!

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does God really hate divorce?

Submitted 11-05-2018 under OPINION

In a previous column, one of the columnists claimed that “God hate divorce.” Is that really the case? Does your tradition believe that there is no scriptural support for ending a bad marriage?

view

Browse