The Rapidian

Opinion

Mental health disorders and stigma: Crossing the bridge to treatment

Submitted 03-03-2021 under OPINION

Many members of our community live with mental health conditions, but they don't need to live with stigma. City High 10th-grader Rohit Agarwal digs into some common conditions and some of the ways that we can support our friends and family who experience stigma.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is your religion based on Dogma?

Submitted 03-01-2021 under OPINION

Connor writes, “I would appreciate learning what your clergy members think of the word 'Dogma,' and if it describes their religion.”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is the different between Happiness and Joy?

Submitted 02-22-2021 under OPINION

Janet H. asks, “The recent column on happiness/unhappiness prompts a further question: Is it happiness humans need, or is it joy?"

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is Wisdom Literature?

Submitted 02-16-2021 under OPINION

Ted N. asks, “Are there similarities (and differences) in the wisdom literature of the world’s major religions? Can you please explain?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What is Our Role in God's Plan?

Submitted 02-08-2021 under OPINION

Linda M. asks, “When people say ‘let God handle it’ or ‘it is all in God's plan,’ does anyone remember God (or whoever) made us thinking, reasoning, humans, and we have an obligation to use our brains and common sense, not just lay bad stuff or good stuff on God's whim?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How to Counsel a Person Seeking Death, part 2

Submitted 02-01-2021 under OPINION

Margo H. asks, “If a parishioner wants to let go of living, how do you counsel them? Is there ever a case in your faith when you can support them spiritually in seeking death?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How to Counsel a Person Seeking Death, part 1

Submitted 01-25-2021 under OPINION

Margo H. asks, “If a parishioner wants to let go of living, how do you counsel them? Is there ever a case in your faith when you can support them spiritually in seeking death?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Church and Politics

Submitted 01-18-2021 under OPINION

The Rev. Steven Manskar, pastor of Trinity United Methodist Church in Grand Rapids, wrote the following essay prior to last November’s election day, reflecting on a Christian’s responsibility to vote.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is it a Contradiction to be both Pro-Life and Pro-Gun?

Submitted 01-11-2021 under OPINION

Arthur L. asks, “My neighbor has a pro life sign and a pro gun sign on their front lawn. This feels like a contradiction. Are these two beliefs in conflict?”

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How Do You Prevent Clergy Burnout?

Submitted 01-04-2021 under OPINION

Sarah M. asks, “I keep reading about clergy burn-out. Have you ever experienced that? Does your religion or denomination take any preventative measures to guard against it?”

view

Browse