The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: How important is accessibility to a house of worship?

Submitted 08-13-2018 under OPINION

Jim E. asks, Most church buildings are older with lots of stairs. What ethical obligation does a church or house of worship have to be accessible to all visitors? At what cost?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: When should clergy take a stand for or against the policy of family separation?

Submitted 08-06-2018 under OPINION

Bob F. asks, I see some clergy publicly criticizing the government's separating families at the border. Other clergy have remained silent on this issue. On this issue, how do you as a member of the clergy decide whether to take a public stand or remain silent?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: How to show respect to elders

Submitted 07-30-2018 under OPINION

What is the proper way to show respect for elders? Of course, things like giving up a seat on a bus and holding a door are respectful, but what else?

view

Dungeons & Dragons pleases fans at Dog Story Theater

Submitted 07-25-2018 under OPINION

Live Dungeons & Dragon campaign combines imagination, acting, and humor for an engaging evening.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Returning a stolen mug

Submitted 07-23-2018 under OPINION

Kay writes: I work at a facility that serves seniors. A client left a fancy insulated travel coffee mug by accident. The client was upset that he lost it and asked if we had found it. I had seen it on the lost and found shelf, but when I went to get it, it was not there.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Psychological counseling vs. spiritual counseling

Submitted 07-16-2018 under OPINION

A reader asks, A past column addressed the question of clergy engaging in psychological counseling, and the panel was in agreement that clergy may offer spiritual or pastoral counseling, but should not offer psychological therapy unless they are specifically trained and licensed.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is blood sacrifice necessary for atonement?

Submitted 07-09-2018 under OPINION

A reader asks, What steps must I take to fully atone for sin? Is it true that a blood sacrifice is required by the Bible?

view

Blondie: Still atomic, more or less

Submitted 07-03-2018 under OPINION

Blondie brings intermittent power to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk - What does "Image of God" Mean? Part 2

Submitted 07-02-2018 under OPINION

Richard J. asks, What does it mean when theologians say, "we are made in the image of God"? Does it mean we look like God?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: What does "Image of God" mean? Part 1

Submitted 06-25-2018 under OPINION

Richard J. asks, What does it mean when theologians say, we are made in the image of God? Does it mean we look like God?

view

Browse