The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

Grand Rapids Pops' Music of ABBA has audience dancing the night away

Submitted 07-14-2017 under OPINION

Arrival from Sweden recreates the ABBA experience to open the 2017 D&W Fresh Market Picnic Pops at Cannonsburg Ski Area

view

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services spotlight: Learning to advocate while parenting

Submitted 07-11-2017 under OPINION

Our third child, Hannah, is hard of hearing. This caused my husband, Dave, and I to follow a path we likely would not have otherwise traveled. It’s been a journey filled with anxiety, discovery and development of life-long friendships.

view

We are the skyline: Reflection from our windows, our pains

Submitted 07-05-2017 under OPINION

We cannot forget that we are the true reflection of brilliance on the horizon. Our sacrifices and hard work, our kindness toward our neighbor, our helping hand to those in need, these are the tools that will build the solid foundations and skyscrapers of hope within our children and the future.

view

Sexual violence, abuse in the GR music scene needs even more conversation

Submitted 06-27-2017 under OPINION

Sexual violence and abuse are regrettably part of DIY and creative music scenes around the country. We must continue to have constructive dialogue and show support for victims in order to reduce and hopefully eliminate these issues in our community.

view

Movie Review: "The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Maki" at UICA

Submitted 06-27-2017 under OPINION

Community reviewer for the UICA, Patrick Feutz, discusses a sports biopic that charts the days leading up to the titular real-life boxer’s infamous 1962 World Featherweight Title bout with reigning champ Davey Moore.

view

Photo Gallery: Pokey LaFarge and Lillie Mae at The Pyramid Scheme

Submitted 06-20-2017 under OPINION

St. Louis musician Pokey LaFarge and supporting act Lillie Mae brought a blend of country, jazz, and more to The Pyramid Scheme June 18th.

view

Catalyst Radio: Dustin Dwyer on five years with State of Opportunity

Submitted 06-16-2017 under OPINION

Host Katie Gordon speaks with Michigan Radio reporter Dustin Dwyer, who has been working with the project State of Opportunity based in Grand Rapids for the past five years.

view

Navigating through pride and prejudice

Submitted 06-16-2017 under OPINION

The inclusion of the black and brown stripes represents the existence of black and brown people in the gay community; which might be a shock. Except for RuPaul, gay people of color are discriminated against in subtle and sometimes not-so-subtle ways in our very own community.

view

Community listening sessions: What will you say about policing?

Submitted 06-09-2017 under OPINION

In light of the recent traffic stop study and incidents involving young African-American males and the police, the City of Grand Rapids will hold a series of "Community Listening Sessions" to deepen engagement around the issue of policing. With up to $5 million on the table, what will you say?

view

Taste of RAW: Panelists discuss indie horror film at UICA

Submitted 06-06-2017 under OPINION

UICA and Cinema Lab team up to have local panelists dissect the film in terms of horror and feminism.

view