The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

During the Michigan State of the State, hold the Governor accountable

Submitted 01-17-2017 under OPINION

In what has been a Governorship bathed in mismanagement, scandal and decisions that have disparately affected our most vulnerable residents – today the Michigan Governor will need to deliver a State of the State that reads like the apology that never happed for victims of this administration.

view

Why I'm marching in the Women's March on Washington

Submitted 01-17-2017 under OPINION

A Grand Rapids woman joins hundreds traveling more than 650 miles to march on Washington, D.C. Here's why.

view

On MLK Day the Call to action is to resist

Submitted 01-16-2017 under OPINION

I believe that, in this moment, a call to unity echoes the kind of erasure that washes away the narratives of people like my grandmother.

view

Series confronts equity issues in West Michigan businesses

Submitted 01-13-2017 under OPINION

Four-part series offers 14 suggestions for increasing equity in Grand Rapids.

view

Grand Rapids Symphony's Marcelo Lehninger makes momentous debut in St. Cecilia Music Center

Submitted 01-11-2017 under OPINION

Marcelo Lehninger, Grand Rapids Symphony's new music director, conducts his debut appearance in historic 19th century St. Cecilia Music Center with Gilmore Young Artist Daniel Hsu

view

Equity issues: Entrepreneur Adriane Johnson speaks out

Submitted 01-10-2017 under OPINION

At a roundtable discussion, small business owners raised their concerns about equity issues in West Michigan. As we head into 2017, how is systemic bias perpetuated, even as our awareness of barriers grows? This is the last in a series of four articles.

view

Equity issues: The role of mentoring

Submitted 01-05-2017 under OPINION

At a roundtable discussion, small business owners raised their concerns about equity issues in West Michigan. As we head into 2017, how is systemic bias perpetuated, even as our awareness of barriers grows? Part 3 of a series.

view

Equity issues: West Michigan businesses should measure progress

Submitted 01-04-2017 under OPINION

At a roundtable discussion, small business owners raised their concerns about equity issues in West Michigan. As we head into 2017, how is systemic bias perpetuated, even as our awareness of barriers grows? Part 2 of 4.

view

Equity issues: Concern for West Michigan businesses

Submitted 01-03-2017 under OPINION

At a roundtable discussion, small business owners raised their concerns about equity issues in West Michigan. As we head into 2017, how is systemic bias perpetuated, even as our awareness of barriers grows? Part 1 of 4.

view

Catalyst Radio: Looking back & moving forward with Team Catalyst

Submitted 01-03-2017 under OPINION

A year ago we rebooted the show with a new cast of hosts and producers. Today we look back at 2016 and look forward to the new year with Team Catalyst. Aired 2016-12-30.

view