The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

Support 'A Day Without Immigrants' on May 1, 2017

Submitted 04-25-2017 under OPINION

This Monday, allies and immigrants are asked to strike from work, school, shopping (including gasoline purchases), and to close their businesses on that day in solidarity. In Grand Rapids, people are asked to gather at Garfield Park for a program and a walk toward Calder Plaza.

view

Review: Flaming Lips bring the weirdness to 20 Monroe Live

Submitted 04-20-2017 under OPINION

The Flaming Lips bring signature oddness and spectacle to Grand Rapids.

view

Teachers want to be heard

Submitted 04-13-2017 under OPINION

Michigan’s final state plan for implementing the country’s new federal education law will be on its way to Washington next month. Teaching is one of the strongest influences on student learning, so our voices must be heard in matters concerning school performance and professional development.

view

Nuns and Nones: Conversation at intersection of contemporary religious, secular life

Submitted 04-11-2017 under OPINION

Local Dominican Sisters and Millennial Nones met in an inter-generational space which lead to conversations about how to sustain ourselves for decades in movements for social justice, how to stay connected with one another in a technological world that has potential for isolation, and so much more.

view

In Grand Rapids, equity work is co-opted for influence

Submitted 04-07-2017 under OPINION

In this community, organizers fall victim to misconceptions of equity perpetuated by people who seek out power, influence and prestige.

view

Movie review: "I Am Not Your Negro"

Submitted 04-04-2017 under OPINION

Documentary paints incomplete but compelling portrait of the late James Baldwin.

view

When grown men point loaded weapons at 12-year-old boys, none of us should sleep well at night

Submitted 03-29-2017 under OPINION

If we as a city are to truly fight racism, we must measure the impact, not the intent, of city-sponsored grown men who pointed loaded guns at 12-year-old boys.

view

Trans Day of Visibility enters ninth year of observance

Submitted 03-28-2017 under OPINION

TDoV is an annual holiday celebrated around the globe, dedicated to celebrating the successes and accomplishments of trans and gender non-conforming people, while also raising awareness of the work that is still needed to save trans lives.

view

How far will we go to prioritize equity in Grand Rapids?

Submitted 03-24-2017 under OPINION

In a city with a history of systemic bias, how do we build trust? Trust will be a process, but we as citizens can take our leadership seriously when they say no to money with strings attached in the interest of not leaving anyone behind.

view

Family unity: Why I march for our undocumented community

Submitted 03-07-2017 under OPINION

Understanding my Puerto Rican history allows me to see what I want for the future of my children, the history I want them to grow up in. They know that standing up for family unity, no matter where you come from or look like, is necessary.

view