The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Do human rights come from God or from the government?

Submitted 11-20-2017 under OPINION

Where do human rights come from? Are they God-given or are they granted by governments on their citizens, and thus contingent on spirit of the age understandings of justice?

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is natural healing God's only will?

Submitted 11-13-2017 under OPINION

Four years ago, an Ohio judge ruled that a 10 year old Amish girl will not be forced to undergo chemotherapy. Akron Children’s Hospital argued that the chemo is 85% effective and without it, her cancer is almost always fatal.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is companionship enough without sex?

Submitted 11-06-2017 under OPINION

This is more of a Dear Abby type of question than the kind we normally handle, but it came in response to a recent column on a similar topic so I sent it along to the panel. Betty (pseudonym) asks:

view

Letter-writing effort to support local incarcerated woman, educate community

Submitted 11-02-2017 under OPINION

Support survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault by attending "Letters for Desirae" on November 5-6, 2017 from 4 p.m. -10 p.m. at Lantern Coffee Shop and Bar.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should Manson follower, killer Leslie Van Houten, be freed?

Submitted 10-30-2017 under OPINION

Daniel (pseudonym) writes: Charles Manson and his followers murdered nine people in California in July and August 1969, including actress Sharon Tate.

view

Immigrants' rights are workers' rights

Submitted 10-26-2017 under OPINION

Citizens packed the Grand Rapids City Commission meeting Tuesday night to speak on two prominent issues affecting our city: The Rapid’s ongoing labor dispute with the ATU (Amalgamated Transit Union), and the need for the Commission to pass an official Equal Protection Policy

view

Demanding a public apology is the newest form of extortion in our social network-centered world

Submitted 10-24-2017 under OPINION

We are human beings. We make mistakes. Apologies are not always the answer.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Religious transformation

Submitted 10-23-2017 under OPINION

Readers of Ethics and Religion Talk might remember a column from the summer of 2016 in which I wrote about a man who sent me a 64 page essay in the mail, arguing that Jews are the most spiritually disgusting people ever to walk the face of the earth ...

view

Isn't my dog cute? No!

Submitted 10-16-2017 under OPINION

I used to dislike dogs; now I realize who I really dislike are some dog owners!

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is stealing signs in baseball unethical?

Submitted 10-16-2017 under OPINION

A baseball ethics question: Is it morally wrong for a team to steal the other team's signs?

view

Browse