The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

What did we learn about "Un día sin Inmigrantes"?

Submitted 02-20-2017 under OPINION

A local business owner reflects on Grand Rapids' joining the movement in solidarity for Human Rights.

view

¿Qué aprendimos sobre "Un día sin Inmigrantes"?

Submitted 02-20-2017 under OPINION

Una empresaria Latina reflexiona acerca de la participacion de Grand Rapids en el movimiento nacional para defender los Derechos Humanos.

view

Nature, mindfulness pair up for a weekend getaway—especially for women

Submitted 02-17-2017 under OPINION

Learn practical techniques to de-compress and find balance in a chaotic world while enjoying delicious food and a beautiful natural environment.

view

DeVos bought influence; corruption erased your vote

Submitted 02-08-2017 under OPINION

In the moment Mrs. DeVos had to prove that she possessed the necessary competency to lead a department that massively impacts the most disenfranchised population amongst us, children, she failed that test. And in education, failing means you are not prepared to move forward.

view

Local teacher argues Muskegon Heights students need money, support not school closures

Submitted 02-02-2017 under OPINION

Jeffery Rundhaug is a Grand Rapids resident who teaches 7th and 8th grade Social Studies at Muskegon Heights Academy, one of the 38 schools the State of Michigan has targeted for closure.

view

Review of 'Faure and Brahms' at Royce Auditorium

Submitted 02-01-2017 under OPINION

Royce Auditorium provides perfect venue for Faure, Brahms pieces

view

My fellow Grand Rapidians, we can't afford to remain silent

Submitted 01-31-2017 under OPINION

To my community, my reflections and thoughts post Washington, D.C. March

view

Grand Rapids Symphony brings magical world to life

Submitted 01-30-2017 under OPINION

Harry Potter Film Concert series debuted in Grand Rapids with three sold-out shows of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone featuring the Grand Rapids Symphony in DeVos Performance Hall.

view

Return from the Women's March brings new perspectives

Submitted 01-24-2017 under OPINION

An attendee of the Women's March on Washington returns to Grand Rapids feeling both inspired and energized.

view

During the Michigan State of the State, hold the Governor accountable

Submitted 01-17-2017 under OPINION

In what has been a Governorship bathed in mismanagement, scandal and decisions that have disparately affected our most vulnerable residents – today the Michigan Governor will need to deliver a State of the State that reads like the apology that never happed for victims of this administration.

view