The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

'Unity before justice is insulting'

Submitted 07-19-2016 under OPINION

An opinion on the 'Am I Next? 4Unity' rally held at Rosa Parks Circle on Saturday, July 16, 2016.

view

I wish my life mattered

Submitted 07-14-2016 under OPINION

I pen this for my people of color whose pain is more often than not erased by indifference. I pen this for every black body that carries the pain of existence on their shoulders – our lives should matter and this is me penning the pain that says “it feels like ours don’t.”

view

Black healing matters

Submitted 07-13-2016 under OPINION

Last Friday, Black Lives Matter GR collaborated with local community members and activsts to create a healing space for Black folks struggling and surviving in the midst of violence.

view

Movie Review: "Raiders! The Story of the Greatest Fan Film Ever Made" at the UICA

Submitted 07-11-2016 under OPINION

Nick Hartman, UICA Film Coordinator reviews the story of three childhood friends who set out to create a tribute to their favorite film, Raiders of the Lost Ark.

view

Why I'm excited to be a teacher leader, even against the odds

Submitted 07-01-2016 under OPINION

Practical tips on how to influence education policy and become a Teacher Leader to improve education for all students.

view

Reflections in a new community

Submitted 06-30-2016 under OPINION

Thanks to all who attended Meet the Editor at Brewery Vivant on June 23. I'm adding it to the list of Grand Rapids' experiences I've had so far.

view

Get transported by the debut video of Grand Rapids band I Believe in Julio

Submitted 06-28-2016 under OPINION

I Believe in Julio blasts off with local and national artists in collaboration creation of debut music video

view

Gentrification or revitalization: Which is it?

Submitted 06-28-2016 under OPINION

The Westside cherishes its rich heritage, whether Hispanic, Polish, Dutch, African-American, Lithuanian or German. Beyond the business corridors, breweries, market rate apartments and luxury condos opening, do we see the repercussions that "revitalization" is having on our neighbors?

view

Movie Review: "The Lobster" at the UICA

Submitted 06-14-2016 under OPINION

The UICA is proud to partner with The Rapidian on a new monthly column to keep you up-to-date about the films we're bringing to our community. This month, Nick Hartman, UICA Film Coordinator reviews "The Lobster."

view

"There's just not enough love in the world"

Submitted 06-10-2016 under OPINION

Miss Brenda shares her happy smile with every passing car as she guards her crossing. She'll return in the fall once again.

view