The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

Photo Gallery: Pokey LaFarge and Lillie Mae at The Pyramid Scheme

Submitted 06-20-2017 under OPINION

St. Louis musician Pokey LaFarge and supporting act Lillie Mae brought a blend of country, jazz, and more to The Pyramid Scheme June 18th.

view

Catalyst Radio: Dustin Dwyer on five years with State of Opportunity

Submitted 06-16-2017 under OPINION

Host Katie Gordon speaks with Michigan Radio reporter Dustin Dwyer, who has been working with the project State of Opportunity based in Grand Rapids for the past five years.

view

Navigating through pride and prejudice

Submitted 06-16-2017 under OPINION

The inclusion of the black and brown stripes represents the existence of black and brown people in the gay community; which might be a shock. Except for RuPaul, gay people of color are discriminated against in subtle and sometimes not-so-subtle ways in our very own community.

view

Community listening sessions: What will you say about policing?

Submitted 06-09-2017 under OPINION

In light of the recent traffic stop study and incidents involving young African-American males and the police, the City of Grand Rapids will hold a series of "Community Listening Sessions" to deepen engagement around the issue of policing. With up to $5 million on the table, what will you say?

view

Taste of RAW: Panelists discuss indie horror film at UICA

Submitted 06-06-2017 under OPINION

UICA and Cinema Lab team up to have local panelists dissect the film in terms of horror and feminism.

view

We must continue to fight for rights of all immigrants

Submitted 05-25-2017 under OPINION

Cosecha is a movement working towards dignity, respect and permanent protection for all documented and undocumented immigrants through nonviolent actions to bring awareness that immigrants are vital assets to the U.S. as well as bring awareness that deportations separate and tear families apart.

view

I saw a sign: My journey from food bank client to food bank advocate

Submitted 05-25-2017 under OPINION

When I was in need, I was a mobile food pantry user. Now I'm interning at the organization that fed me.

view

From an organizer's perspective: Why the Asian Festival is important

Submitted 05-23-2017 under OPINION

Diversity is beautiful and powerful, and the Asian/Pacific community has so much diversity of which many are unaware. But nonetheless, we’re usually lumped into one giant spring roll of expectations, whether we fit them or not.

view

City Commission 101: Five ways to be more effective when you go

Submitted 05-10-2017 under OPINION

How to prepare, speak up, and more. If you decide to attend a City Commission meeting, here are five things I wish someone had explained to me.

view

Our neighbors, our friends, our future: Why I keep marching

Submitted 05-04-2017 under OPINION

On Monday, May 1, 2017, I had the honor of marching during "A Day Without Immigrants" in solidarity for family unity and dignity for our undocumented community. Our greatest success comes not from climbing on each other to reach the top, but by reaching out and navigating life's challenges together.

view