The Rapidian

Opinion

Ethics and Religion Talk: Does religious freedom mean exemption from the law?

Submitted 09-18-2017 under OPINION

Proponents of "religious freedom" say that they should not be required to comply with laws that compel them to violate their religion (i.e., Obamacare requiring payment for birth control) divorce, contraception, abortion, marriage

view

City, GRPD must seek independent investigations into police call recordings to rebuild public trust, transparency

Submitted 09-15-2017 under OPINION

The City and the Chief have known about these phone calls and their content for going on a year now. Yet they delayed in condemning the actions of the officers, repeatedly fought FOIA requests for the phone calls, and they didn't fire the involved officers.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Senior relationships

Submitted 09-11-2017 under OPINION

I am a women who just turned 60. I have a male friend who will be 50 very soon. We have been friends for 15 years. It has been a bittersweet relationship. But we have learned a lot of lessons through our mistakes, and I thank God that we have always found our way back to each other.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: The Charlie Gard Case

Submitted 09-05-2017 under OPINION

Question: I would like to see the Ethics and Religion Talk panel analyze the case of Charlie Gard, the child born with a terminal rare genetic condition (mitochondrial depletion syndrome).

view

We need to understand the challenges first generation students face

Submitted 08-29-2017 under OPINION

While it is inspiring to hear stories of students who overcame challenges to be the first in their family to go to college, for many the struggle does not end with a college acceptance letter. It is important to address the specific challenges that first generation college students face.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Forbidden Fruit

Submitted 08-28-2017 under OPINION

Rather than responding to a reader question, this week’s Ethics and Religion Talk column begins with an essay on “Forbidden Fruit” by the Rev. Sandra Nikkel, head pastor of Conklin Reformed Church. The essay comes from a book she is writing.

view

Reflecting on rocking times: my experience as a GR!GR counselor

Submitted 08-23-2017 under OPINION

“Women will rise as lightning will shine / Thunder will rumble as our voices unite / We thrive in power as the sparks ignite” Lyrics from the song Giants Falling by Girls Shred.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Should religious institutions be 'Safe Refuge?'

Submitted 08-21-2017 under OPINION

Should a religious building be considered safe refuge for undocumented foreigners, criminals, or family members seeking shelter from abusers?

view

State Rep. Runestad pushes changes to Child Custody Act which prioritize rights of parents over children

Submitted 08-18-2017 under OPINION

Town hall event with bill sponsor State Representative Jim Runestad (R-44th District) to be held Monday, August 21st, at 6:00 p.m. at 401 Hall Street SW in Grand Rapids.

view

The #StandWithCharlottesville march: How did it go?

Submitted 08-15-2017 under OPINION

Organizers in Grand Rapids were quick to bring together a rally against white supremacy, but we're still complicit in racism in our own town. When well-meaning white people cause harm, we must own it and do better.

view

Browse