The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

The #StandWithCharlottesville march: How did it go?

Submitted 08-15-2017 under OPINION

Organizers in Grand Rapids were quick to bring together a rally against white supremacy, but we're still complicit in racism in our own town. When well-meaning white people cause harm, we must own it and do better.

view

Ethics and Religion Talk: Is torture in defense of civilians ethical?

Submitted 08-14-2017 under OPINION

RS asks, Is the torture of enemies defensible in the defense of civilians; and should it be decriminalized in view of hindsight if the nation-state deems it moral?

view

Deaf and Hard of Hearing camp provides fun, connection for kids

Submitted 08-08-2017 under OPINION

At Deaf and Hard of Hearing (D&HHS) Kids Camp, the kids come here so that they can have fun, experience things they may not otherwise experience, and learn new ways to communicate.

view

Rethinking child support, Part 1: How good parents go to jail

Submitted 08-08-2017 under OPINION

Examining why the our child support system is out of sync with society, and its impact on Kent County’s most economically disadvantaged parents.

view

International exchange program broadens horizons for students, families, communities

Submitted 08-08-2017 under OPINION

Becoming a host family for an International exchange student can be a rewarding, life-changing experience for everyone involved.

view

Trolling under rainbow bridge

Submitted 07-31-2017 under OPINION

For all the discrimination and prejudice, I lamented in my first article, there was no acknowledgment of the disabled community. Even though I am not disabled, if I was going to get on a gay soap box about equal representation, I might want to make sure I’m not showcasing the same bias.

view

Amplify GR meeting: What does community ownership look like?

Submitted 07-28-2017 under OPINION

Until Grand Rapids intentionally starts a restorative justice and reparations process to deal with over a century of oppression, those in power will evade true community ownership and empowerment.

view

Grand Rapids Pops' Music of ABBA has audience dancing the night away

Submitted 07-14-2017 under OPINION

Arrival from Sweden recreates the ABBA experience to open the 2017 D&W Fresh Market Picnic Pops at Cannonsburg Ski Area

view

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services spotlight: Learning to advocate while parenting

Submitted 07-11-2017 under OPINION

Our third child, Hannah, is hard of hearing. This caused my husband, Dave, and I to follow a path we likely would not have otherwise traveled. It’s been a journey filled with anxiety, discovery and development of life-long friendships.

view

We are the skyline: Reflection from our windows, our pains

Submitted 07-05-2017 under OPINION

We cannot forget that we are the true reflection of brilliance on the horizon. Our sacrifices and hard work, our kindness toward our neighbor, our helping hand to those in need, these are the tools that will build the solid foundations and skyscrapers of hope within our children and the future.

view