The Rapidian

grcmc  A proud service of the Community Media Center

Opinion

We must continue to fight for rights of all immigrants

Submitted 05-25-2017 under OPINION

Cosecha is a movement working towards dignity, respect and permanent protection for all documented and undocumented immigrants through nonviolent actions to bring awareness that immigrants are vital assets to the U.S. as well as bring awareness that deportations separate and tear families apart.

view

I saw a sign: My journey from food bank client to food bank advocate

Submitted 05-25-2017 under OPINION

When I was in need, I was a mobile food pantry user. Now I'm interning at the organization that fed me.

view

From an organizer's perspective: Why the Asian Festival is important

Submitted 05-23-2017 under OPINION

Diversity is beautiful and powerful, and the Asian/Pacific community has so much diversity of which many are unaware. But nonetheless, we’re usually lumped into one giant spring roll of expectations, whether we fit them or not.

view

City Commission 101: Five ways to be more effective when you go

Submitted 05-10-2017 under OPINION

How to prepare, speak up, and more. If you decide to attend a City Commission meeting, here are five things I wish someone had explained to me.

view

Our neighbors, our friends, our future: Why I keep marching

Submitted 05-04-2017 under OPINION

On Monday, May 1, 2017, I had the honor of marching during "A Day Without Immigrants" in solidarity for family unity and dignity for our undocumented community. Our greatest success comes not from climbing on each other to reach the top, but by reaching out and navigating life's challenges together.

view

Apoye 'Un Día Sin Inmigrantes' el 1º de Mayo, 2017

Submitted 04-26-2017 under OPINION

Este lunes, a los inmigrantes y sus aliados se les pide que participen en la huelga faltando al trabajo y a la escuela, no yendo de compras (incluyendo la gasolina), y serrando sus negocios ese día en solidaridad. En Grand Rapids, se le pide a la gente que se reúnan en el Parque Garfield donde habrá

view

Support 'A Day Without Immigrants' on May 1, 2017

Submitted 04-25-2017 under OPINION

This Monday, allies and immigrants are asked to strike from work, school, shopping (including gasoline purchases), and to close their businesses on that day in solidarity. In Grand Rapids, people are asked to gather at Garfield Park for a program and a walk toward Calder Plaza.

view

Review: Flaming Lips bring the weirdness to 20 Monroe Live

Submitted 04-20-2017 under OPINION

The Flaming Lips bring signature oddness and spectacle to Grand Rapids.

view

Teachers want to be heard

Submitted 04-13-2017 under OPINION

Michigan’s final state plan for implementing the country’s new federal education law will be on its way to Washington next month. Teaching is one of the strongest influences on student learning, so our voices must be heard in matters concerning school performance and professional development.

view

Nuns and Nones: Conversation at intersection of contemporary religious, secular life

Submitted 04-11-2017 under OPINION

Local Dominican Sisters and Millennial Nones met in an inter-generational space which lead to conversations about how to sustain ourselves for decades in movements for social justice, how to stay connected with one another in a technological world that has potential for isolation, and so much more.

view